Links and Resources

It is our goal to help provide you with the resources you need in order to enhance the quality of life and increase independence, inclusion and empowerment for IRC consumers. As such, we have included below a number of advocacy groups categorized by type of developmental disability as well as other links to resources that may be helpful in achieving the outcome of your consumer’s plan.

If you know of a resource not included on this list and would like to share it with us, please email us at dkimble@inlandrc.org.

Disability-based Advocacy Organizations
Lanterman Parents Coordinating Council lantermanpcc.org
United Cerebral Palsy – Inland Empire www.ucpie.org
Inland Empire Autism Society www.ieautism.org
Coachella Valley Autism Society www.cvasa.org
Talk About Curing Autism www.tacanow.org
Autism Speaks www.autismspeaks.org
The ARC www.thearc.org
The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities www.aaidd.org
Down Syndrome Association of Los Angeles www.dsala.org
Down Syndrome Association of Hemet www.dsaoh.org
Epilepsy Foundation of Southern California www.epilepsyfoundationgla.org
Epilepsy Center www.theepilepsycenter.org
Educate.Advocate www.educateadvocateca.com
Making a Difference Association http://www.themakingadifferenceassociation.org/
TASH www.tash.org
ARCA – Association of Regional Center Agencies http://www.arcanet.org/
American Lung Association http://lung.org/

Education
TASK (Riverside County) www.taskca.org
EPU Children’s Center (San Bernardino County) https://www.epuchildren.org/
Fiesta Educativa www.fiestaeducativa.org
We Connect Now for Students with Disabilities weconnectnow.wordpress.com
College Resources for Students with Disabilities www.affordablecollegesonline.org/college-resource-center/resources-for-students-with-disabilities/
Scholarships and Grants for Students with Disabilities http://www.moneygeek.com/education/college/resources/scholarship-guide-for-students-with-disabilities/
Understanding Cyberbullying in College http://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/college-resource-center/cyberbullying-awareness/
Best Colleges.com www.bestcolleges.com/resources/disabled-students/

Legal Advocacy
Disability Rights California www.disabilityrightsca.org
Disability Rights Legal Center www.disabilityrightslegalcenter.org
TODEC Legal Center www.todec.org
Inland Counties Legal Services inlandlegal.org

Independent Living Centers
San Bernardino County – Rolling Start www.rollingstart.com
Riverside County – Community Access Center www.ilcac.org

Cerebral Palsy
Cerebral Palsy Resources www.worldmedassist.com/cerebral-palsy-resources

Federal
Social Security www.ssa.gov
Ticket to Work chooseworkttw.net/
Job Accommodation Network www.askjan.org
Americans with Disabilities Act www.ada.gov

State
Department of Developmental Services www.dds.ca.gov
DDS SafetyNet www.ddssafety.net/
California Department of Special Education www.cde.ca.gov/sp/se/
Department of Health Services www.dhcs.ca.gov
Medi-Cal www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/
IHSS www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/IHSS.aspx
Health and Human Services www.chhs.ca.gov
California Children Services www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ccs/Pages/default.aspx
California State Council on Developmental Disabilities http://www.scdd.ca.gov/
Area Board 12 http://www.scdd.ca.gov/areaboard12.htm
California Dept of Social Services / Community Care Licensing http://www.ccld.ca.gov/

California Health Insurance
Covered California www.coveredca.com/
Inland Empire Coordinated Care Initiative (Medicare/Medi-Cal) www.inlandempirecci.org/Pages/Home.aspx

County
Riverside County — IHSS http://dpss.co.riverside.ca.us/adult-services-division/in-home-supportive-services
San Bernardino County — IHSS hss.co.san-bernardino.ca.us/PA/Default.asp
San Bernardino County — Homeless Resources www.sbcounty.gov/dbh/sbchp/HomelessResources.aspx
Riverside County Network of Care http://riverside.networkofcare.org/
San Bernardino County 2-1-1 Social Services Hotline http://www.211sb.org/

Parent Information Centers
National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities http://www.nichcy.org
Parent Helpline National Parent Helpline®

Emergency Preparedness
American Red Cross Inland Empire Chapter http://www.ie-redcross.org/

Miscellaneous
Disabled Travelers.com http://www.disabledtravelers.com/development-disabilities
Air Travel with Disabilities www.cheapflights.com/news/traveling-with-disabilities/
Home Remodeling for Disabilities and Special Needs www.expertise.com/home-and-garden/home-remodeling-for-disability-and-special-needs
Adapting a Home for Disability Accessibility www.moneygeek.com/mortgage/resources/home-modification-for-disability/